Breakfast for Dinner

dash-white-mini-waffle-maker

(Not My Waffles)

Welcome back! It’s great to see you again. I missed you.

You might be asking yourself, what does a single father do on a Friday night when he doesn’t have his daughter? You werent? Okay, I will share anyways because its TERRIBLY exciting!

Laundry. Yup. You read that right. My night began around 6pm folding laundry. Laundry is one of those things thats a constant in all of our lives. Not super exciting but without it, we’d be naked. Once that was done and put away, I moved on to cleaning the house, which really is pointless since it’s been raining today and the dogs are wet and muddy. But believe me when I tell you, my bathroom was atrocious. Now on to the exciting part!

My dinner. I tried something completely new tonight and I’m going to share it with you! I made some of my favorites: Breakfast for dinner. If you’ve never done this, you’re missing out.

It was a roundup of the usual suspects: Waffles, cheese, eggs, did i mention cheese?! The “completely new” part was the waffle. I’ve been on a weight loss journey for over a year now. I’m overhauling my life and trying to take better care of myself. This includes NOT dousing everything in maple syrup, which is like 100% sugar. So instead of the usual sweet waffle, I made them savory! Herbs have no calories so to speak so you can add great flavor without ruining your diet.

Have you ever had a savory waffle? I don’t think i had prior to this evening.

Here is the recipe I used:

Savory Waffle

1 c All Purpose Flour

1.5 tsp Baking Powder

1 egg

1 c almond milk (use whatever milk you like. I just had almond on hand)

1 tbsp Oregano

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 c Cheddar Cheese, Shredded

Mix all ingredients together. Bake in a waffle maker until golden brown.

Yield: 4 waffles

 

Thats it! See, super simple. While the waffles were waffling, I cooked up some sunny side up eggs, 1 per waffle. I placed the egg on top of the waffle and sprinkled it with more shredded cheddar cheese. My favorite part? When you cut into the egg yolk and it creates a sauce for the waffles. The savory waffle, mixed with the cheesy goodness and fatty egg is a match made in heaven. My only regret? Not getting a picture!

If you are feeling adventurous this weekend, this would make a perfect brunch dish. I tend to experiment a little bit when I’m on my own for dinner. My daughter Lorelei is 7 and is every minute of 7 years old. She’s adventurous when she’s in the mood. This is one of those dishes she would look at me and say “Really Dada? You think i’m going to eat this?”. Since it was just me and dogs tonight, I was in the clear.

Until next time, Happy Waffling!

Christopher

Leave a Reply

